Brief profile of the Department:
The Department of English was one of the few departments started in 2005 in the erstwhile S.V.U P.G. Center, Kadapa with an intake of 40 students (20 regular + 20 self- supporting) with an objective of promoting and providing a platform for those who want to pursue their post-graduation and research in English language and literature. Since its inception, the department reflected in its curriculum its awareness of the newer trends in methodology and research. In tune with the growing interest in World Literature and Comparative Studies besides English language Teaching and Skills , the department revised its curriculum by introducing new areas such as:
American Literature
African Literature
Australian Literature
Caribbean Literature
Indian English Literature
English Language Teaching
Student Intake for the current academic year 2015-2016:
M.A.(Semester System) Previous .... Total 25 (Male-07, Female- 18)
M.A. (Semester System) Final .... Total 24 (Male-15, Female – 09)
Mode of Admission:
Through common entrance test, YVUCET
Research Programme: Ph.D. (Regular and Full Time):
Ph.D. (Regular and Full Time) Programme was started in the year 2010, with an intake of 10 candidates. The selection of the candidate is through YVURESCET(Yogi Vemana University Research Common Entrance Test) and based on current UGC guidelines. Each faculty has been allotted two candidates. At present 05 candidates are pursuing research leading to Ph.D. in different areas of Language and Literature. Some of the scholars could not pursue their research and had to leave the course in the middle to take up government jobs and due to personal problems. So far, two candidates have been awarded Ph.D. and two candidates have submitted their thesis. Two more research scholars are expected to submit their theses shortly. Besides this, the faculty has been supervising extramural candidates of different Universities for Ph.D. and some of them have submitted their thesis for adjudication and Viva-Voce is awaited for the candidates.
Initially the Department was started with six academic consultants in the year, 2005 and later on one Associate Professor was added in the year2006 and in the course of time, the department grew into a full-fledged department with one Professor, one Associate Professor and five Assistant Professors. The department has completed 10 years of fruitful existence. In the course of 10 years, the department has been instrumental in fulfilling the aspiration of the students of the backward districts of Rayalaseema to meet the higher education needs and has produced a sizeable number of post graduate and research students. The department has also organized three National Seminars, one Workshop and Symposium so far on language and Literature for the benefit of students and teachers. The department takes credit of producing teachers, banking personnel and NET/SLET holders.
Teaching Faculty:
Dr.G.Gulam Tariq Retired Professor
Dr.P.Padma Professor
Dr.J.Mercy Vijetha Assistant Professor
Dr. N. Ankanna Assistant Professor
Dr.R.V.Jayanth Kasyap Assistant Professor & Coordinator
Research Publications:
The faculty members have been actively involved in research and the department has so far published 05 books and articles in reputed National and International journals in significant areas of literature and on famous British, American, Indian and other new writers on many critical perspectives.
Number of publications of each faculty Member:
SL.NO Name of the teacher No. of Books Published No. of Research Papers Published
01 Prof. G. Gulam Tariq 01 22
02 Dr. P. Padma 01 35
03 Dr. J. Mercy Vijetha -- 05
04 Dr. N. Ankanna -- 04
05 Dr. R. V. Jayanth Kashyap 03 19
Details of Seminars/Conferences/Workshops/Symposium organized by the Department:
SL.NO Name of the Programme Name of the key note speaker Topic/Theme Dates Sponsoring Agency
1 National Seminar on Vemana’s Philosophy Prof. Ravva Sri Hari Vemana’s Philosophy 27th -28th Jan, 2007 YV University, Kadapa
2 National Seminar on Current Trends in Teaching English Language & Literature Prof. Mohan Ramanan Current Trends in Teaching English Language & Literature 04th-05th ,Feb,2011 UGC, New Delhi
3 National Workshop on Contemporary Insights on English Literature Prof. P.V Amit Kumar Contemporary Insights on English Literature 21st , March, 2012 APSCHE,HYD
4 National Seminar on Discourses in Contemporary Commonwealth Literature Prof. P. Kannan Discourses in Contemporary Commonwealth Literature 18th March 2014 UGC, New Delhi
5 National Symposium on Modern Fiction Prof. M.A.K. Sukumar Modern Fiction 9th March, 2015 UGC, New Delhi
List of doctoral degrees awarded:
a)Ph.D.s Awarded:
Name of the Candidate Name of the Supervisor Title of the Thesis
G. Satya Dr. P. Padma Domestic Comedy in Neil Simon’s Select Plays
Venkata Ramana Dr. P. Padma Social Criticism in the Poems of T. V. Reddy and P. Raja
b)Ph.D. Submitted:
Name of the Candidate Name of the Supervisor Title of the Thesis
Veena. P Prof. G. Gulam Tariq Thematic Concerns in the Novels of Arun Joshi
A.Shashi Kala Dr. P. Padma Negotiating Cultural Change: A Study of Select Novels of Githa Hariharan, Anitha Nair and Manju Kapur
c)Pursuing :
Candidate Name of the Supervisor Topic/ Area of Research
K.Maheswaramma Dr. P. Padma Afro-American Literature
S.Satyam Dr. N. Ankanna Post Modernism in Amitav Gosh’s Fictional Works: A Study
Y.Sreenivasulu Dr. R.V. Jayanth Kasyap A Critical Evaluation of the Business Communication Course Materials for the MBA Programme in Selected Universities of Andhra Pradesh
Seminars, Conferences and Guest Lectures:
. The staff is given full academic freedom to attend seminars and conferences for paper presentation and to interact with eminent scholars in various areas of language and literature. The department has arranged expert talks and guest lectures by eminent Professors, to name a few:
Prof. Mohan Ramanan - University of Hyderabad
Prof. A. Ramakrishna Rao – JNTU Hyderabad
Prof. D.S. Kesava Rao – NIT, Warangal
Prof. P.V. Amit Kumar – EFLU, Hyderabad
Prof. M. A. K. Sukumar - S.V. University, Tirupathi
Prof. P. Obul Reddy - S.K. University, Ananthapur
Prof. S. Abdul Khayyoom - S.K. University, Ananthapur
Prof. V. V. N.RajendraPrasad - S.K. University, Ananthapur
Prof. P. Kannan – Karnataka Women’s University, Bijapur
Prof. G. M. Sundaravalli – S. V. University, Tirupathi
Prof. Y. S. Sharada - Sri Padmavathi Mahila University, Tirupathi